fine art maternity, birth, newborn, baby, child and family photography

what to wear: petit de nimes…{New Orleans children’s photographer)

This line will be the first in a new weekly post about what to wear for your session with me!  The line I’m highlighting this week, Petit de Nimes, hails from Australia but is available on Zulily for the next two days.  It focuses on toddlers and younger kiddos, and has great pieces for little boys, which can be so hard to find.  I love it for its clean lines, the occasional ruffle, textured knits, and bold colors that would be perfect for my holiday card mini-sessions in October.  Most of the clothing lines that are so beautiful in photographs are expensive and VERY difficult to find in the USA, so when I come across them, especially at a great deal, I want to shout it from the rooftops!  The usual American style of children’s clothing seems a bit frenetic to me and often does not translate well in photographs, simply because they pull focus from the subject.  And that’s why it’s so vital to have the perfect outfit for your session — the focus should ALWAYS be your child.  The smocked bishop’s gown that your daughter wears to church is gorgeous, yes, but it will almost certainly be overwhelming in a portrait.  The lines and styles I love add to your image in a subtle and tasteful way, leaving the focus of the image to be exactly what we’re aiming for:  the people in the picture.  And as always, just give me a call if you have any questions about what to wear for your session; I’m happy to send you suggestions, give you feedback on something you’ve got in mind, or meet you and go shopping!

One response

  1. Dear Olivia,
    I happened to stumble across your blog. I love how you have so eloquently captured what I have been trying to achieve with this label. I have to say your photographs look fantastic. This label is still in its infancy, well what I mean by that is that it only is about 3 years old. I have had limited opportunity for such beauthiful photographs compared to when I was working for the big corporates. I will keep a keen eye on your prorgess and if by some chance you happen to take any photos with Petit De Nimes could you please alert me. USA is a new market for us and there is definately more coming your way! Zulily contacted Petit De Nimes and after initial speculation we are very happy with the opporunity it has presented. I look forward to hearing from you soon and hopefully suporting any keen mums and dads overseas. I think you will find the quality and timeless nature of the designs most appealing. Again, thank you for the kind words. Sandra from Petit De Nimes.

    September 11, 2012 at 4:31 am

Leave a Reply

